cosmic charm

Some fall in love at first sight. They got married after the first date.

My first #ThursdayTV post goes out to the first US TV show I’ve ever watched.

I didn’t grow up in an English-speaking household. In the context of TV viewing, masa kami sa bahay. I was a teenager when we got cable TV, and even then, we weren’t readily willing to switch primetime teleseryes just yet.

So I only chanced upon Dharma & Greg while flipping channels. And pretty much like straight-up Greg falling in love with free-spirited Dharma, I immediately got attached to it, too. I found myself checking out when it’s on. When it happened to be shown when the TV is not supposed to be on (yeah, may oras ang TV sa bahay, and you think your parents are too strict on you?) I started to “rebel” and watched it, nonetheless.

I can’t recall much about the first episode I’ve actually seen, but I do remember waking up as early as 7 AM to watch it on Star World. It’s followed by Hollywood Squares. It’s a fun game show, I swore I have imagined then what it would be like if we have a local version of it. After that, it’s Whose Line Is It, Anyway? and my brain wasn’t ready for American improv yet, so I’d pass.

As a school boy, my English communication skills were mainly just in written form. I barely join declamation, oratorical, debate, or any kind of spoken English contests. So at first, I had to fake it when I watched the show – laughing only at the cue of canned audience chuckles. A few times the episode has Closed Captioning, and I’ll have fun reading and understanding it. It grew on me, and my fascination for US TV shows drew from there.

I’m a plain Pinoy fanboy who grew as a sick nerd for US television fare. All thanks to Dharma & Greg. Looking back, I realized it’s like the kind of love that’s not completely magical or remarkable or epic. It’s a normal weekday morning, and channel-surfing can’t prove just how boring it was. Then something new sparks your interest, curves your lips into a smile, brings you a couple of laughs. Before you know it, you have a new routine. Before you know it, something foreign, surprisingly charming, grows on you.

Before you know it, your life is changed forever.

Hanep nadala ko sa pag-ibig, ‘no? Hahaha matinde!

That spark from Day 1 lasted Dharma and Greg a lifetime of love, and five seasons of on-screen riot.

To firsts! Cheers!

Dharma & Greg
ABC

Cast: Jenna Elfman, Thomas Gibson, Joel Murray, Mimi Kennedy, Alan Rachins, Mitchell Ryan, Susan Sullivan, Shae D’Lyn, Susan Chuang, Helen Greenberg 
Executive Producers: Chuck Lorre, Dottie Dartland

Leave a Reply

