What is one thing that happened in your life that, without it happening, you would never be where you are today?

Some things, no matter how unexpected and disappointing on the onset, set the course in motion. You don’t see it that way at first, but you eventually look back and think, “I would have been stuck if that didn’t happen.”

As for me, it happened when I got fired from the job I really liked. I was learning a lot, earning OK, taking control, loving the people around me, having a ball, pretty much having the time of my life. Then it happened.

I won’t go into specifics. I mean, come on. It’s not really cool to recall how it happened. But it sure made things happen. It opened me to opportunities I never thought existed. It pushed me to take more responsibility and caution. Later on, it became a shiny piece on my résumé, too.

I’ll be bragging a bit here, but with the quality of work I try to do every single day, I’d say kung hindi yun nangyari, I will not have experienced how to be fired. I say that because I’m terrible at my tendency to become complacent. I need some sort of shock every now and then. The disappointment and humiliation gave me the courage and maturity to move along and get to where I’m at now.

Ask me anything What, Where, When, Why, Who, and I’ll pick one to answer on Wednesdays!  Check out ask.fm/chokology and ask away!

Leave a Reply

